being far and helpless

I checked my phone and saw a message that came in at 1am. More complications for my dad. He went in for surgery on Monday morning and was even able to send a selfie later that evening.

Today is different though. Things aren’t going as smoothly as we hoped. The doctors think they have things under control. It’s still scary.

I always knew that this was a thing I would have to face eventually. Perhaps I just didn’t realise it would be this soon or during the most psychologically, emotionally and spiritually taxing season of my life so far. Right now, I’m in Warsaw. They’re in the suburbs of Chicago. A small comfort is knowing that we are getting updates quickly. This would have been even more difficult just a decade ago.

The strange thing is that being far away from loved ones during a crisis doesn’t get easier. It just seems to become…

normal.